Peugeot 107 Owners Club - 107oc.com
10 March 2010, 08:58:40 AM
  Home Help Calendar Login Register  
Welcome to the 107oc. Please either login or join the community. Did you miss your activation email?

News: Welcome to the 107oc!
 
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: BAD VIRUS ALERT!!  (Read 309 times)
A.D.I. Ali
: PRO-SCOT : Scotland's Premier Rider & Driver Training Centre
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 22
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1296


5dr Electra Blue Verve & 5dr Antigua Blue Urban


WWW
« on: 13 August 2008, 12:04:26 AM »

I Just got this email from a friend.  PLEASE PASS THIS ON.  I HOPE NO ONE GETS THIS.

  HUGE VIRUS COMING !!! PLEASE READ & FORWARD !!!

http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/postcard.asp

Hi All, I checked with Norton Anti-Virus, and they are gearing up for this
virus!

I checked Snopes (URL above:), and it is for real!!

Get this E-mail message sent around to your contacts ASAP.

PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS!

You should be alert during the next few days. Do not open any message with
an attachment entitled 'POSTCARD FROM HALLMARK,' regardless of who sent it
to you. It is a virus which opens A POSTCARD IMAGE, which 'burns' the whole
hard disc C of your computer. This virus will be received from someone who
has your e-mail address in his/her contact list. This is the reason why you
need to send this e-mail to all your contacts It is better to receive this
message 25 times than to receive the virus and open it.

If you receive a mail called' POSTCARD,' even though sent to you by a
friend, do not open it! Shut down your computer immediately.

This is the worst virus announced by CNN. It has been classified by
Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever. This virus was discovered by
McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind of virus. This
virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital
information is kept.

COPY THIS E-MAIL, AND SEND IT TO YOUR FRIENDS. REMEMBER: IF YOU SEND IT TO
THEM, YOU WILL BENEFIT ALL OF US


I Pasted this from my e-mail, sounds like one you don't want to catch!!  Embarrassed

Logged

Wheelygoodstuff
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 23
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4051



WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: 13 August 2008, 08:51:07 AM »

Hi,
Thanks for that!! I got one yesterday thats from DHL, stating "unable to deliver parcel in time" you then open up the document and it infects your computer and pretends to be anti-spyware software. The idea is that you panick and enter your credit card details to pay for the spyware, and so give the naughty boys your credit card details. My laptop wouldn't open the document, but didn't say why not, no security warning or anything. However my desktop opened it no problem........................and then the computer shut down!!!!
My computer man is coming today to assess the damage........
Thats my first virus ever, thankfully I only use the desktop for Word and printing, but not anymore!!
Rich
Logged

Rich. AKA Wheelygoodstuff,
Home of http://www.wheelygoodstuff.co.uk
supplying quality valeting products to trade and public!!!
Dan.
107oc Member
107oc Regular
*****

Respect: 0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 94


Proud ex107 Owner


WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: 13 August 2008, 08:52:40 AM »

Its a Hoax email

http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/bl_postcard_virus.htm

Dan.
Logged
acra
No more C1...
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 8
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1277


acra@akoss.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: 13 August 2008, 09:54:15 AM »

Thought it sounded dodge - gotta be real careful with them kind of emails, so often they're the actual virus!
Logged

Now has a Dark Blue 5dr Vauxhall Astra 1.6, 8v (mk4 hatchback)...
Wheelygoodstuff
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 23
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4051



WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: 13 August 2008, 11:24:11 AM »

Hi,
Just had another one UPS parcel delivery....and you open the tracking sheet....NOT!!
Rich
Logged

Rich. AKA Wheelygoodstuff,
Home of http://www.wheelygoodstuff.co.uk
supplying quality valeting products to trade and public!!!
stiglet
Track Slag
Administrator
Forum legend
******

Respect: 88
Online Online

Gender: Female
Posts: 6035



« Reply #5 on: 13 August 2008, 11:32:08 AM »

I just had that one too and nearly fell for it
Logged

Mark M.K
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 8
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493


« Reply #6 on: 13 August 2008, 12:19:05 PM »

I've just had one of them UPS emails, it reads:

Unfortunately we were not able to deliver postal package you sent on
 July the 25 in time
because the recipient’s address is not correct.
Please print out the invoice copy attached and collect the package at
 our office.

Your UPS

With an attached file called: WW_671282.zip (49k)

My email company scans the attachment before downloading and this comes up...

File name: WW_671282.zip
File size: 48kb
File type: application/zip
Scan result: Virus "Trojan.Wsnpoem" found.
The file attached to this message was infected with a virus that we were unable to clean. You should not download this attachment.
 
Note: Not all viruses can be cleaned. Please contact the message sender and request that they send you a virus-free version of this attachment
Logged
Wheelygoodstuff
107oc Member
Forum legend
*****

Respect: 23
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4051



WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: 13 August 2008, 01:22:00 PM »

Hi
,
Sadly we use UPS and DHL, so I fell for it!! Not helped by the fact that I sent a parcel out on that day too!!
Rich
Logged

Rich. AKA Wheelygoodstuff,
Home of http://www.wheelygoodstuff.co.uk
supplying quality valeting products to trade and public!!!
Sammy-107
107oc Regular
**

Respect: 2
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 77


sammy-ss@hotmail.co.uk
Email
« Reply #8 on: 13 August 2008, 04:48:10 PM »

DHL, stating "unable to deliver parcel in time"

I had that one yesterday too, it was in my Junk Mail, so I didn't open it, just deleted it.
I also had one from Halifax the other in my Junk Mail, I would of opened it if I actually banked with Halifax lol
« Last Edit: 13 August 2008, 04:49:47 PM by Sammy-107 » Logged
ade hook
Guest
« Reply #9 on: 13 August 2008, 06:40:48 PM »

  its against site rules to post chain letters
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

This is a 107 forum for the 107oc - Peugeot 107 owners club. We welcome 107 owners to the Peugeot 107 owners club and 107 forum, where we offer community with other peugeot 107 owners, and discounts on Peugeot 107 accessories and more.

This site is a sister site of the Peugeot 207 Owners Club, 207oc and Renault Twingo Owners Club, TwingoOC

©2005-2008 - Peugeot 107 Owners Club - 107oc.com